Half-Hearted (Pun Retroactively Intended) Press Release

Press Release
Andrew J. Lederer “Cold Chicken” 12:55pm 4-25 Aug, Southsider, 3-7 West Richmond Street, EH8 9EF
Andrew J. Lederer “Cold Comfort”   5:00pm 4-25 Aug. Royal Mile Tavern, 27 High St Edinburgh, EH1 1SG
(A proud part of PBH’s Free Fringe)
 
Okay. I’m tired, so no fake 3rd person here. The 2 “Cold” shows are about my breakdown (physical? emotional?) while overstaying a tourist visa in London (no NHS access or anything) and then my return to America to get medical care (I’m the only guy who ever WENT to America to get health care) which took an unexpected turn when, sans symptoms, I ended up surprising my doctors by needing open heart surgery.
 
Which I had.
 
9 weeks ago.
 
This points up one of the benefits of the Free Fringe over the big, expensive, unFringey one. “Cold Comfort,” the show about my heart surgery, was able to be put up at the very last minute without missing the chance to be in the PBH booklet, which increasing numbers of people rely on when making their Edinburgh choices. That’s because the Free Fringe is not a massive, bureaucratic enterprise with absurdly early deadlines. I was orignially going to do a different show in that slot when all this went down and became too relevant for me to ignore.
 
And I didn’t have to ignore it.
 
But how, you ask, can I mount a show so quickly, what with my diminished physical reserves and all like that?
 
Because, you see, I am a storyteller. I tell my story. That’s what I do.
 
“Cold Chicken,” you probably don’t know, is the story I told last year, right after it happened. I’d already begun my medical quest in America but took a break to come to Edinburgh and give an in-progress report to the people. And to be honest, they appreciated it, expressing a great deal of unexpected support and enthusiasm via Twitter and such, mostly using the words, “moving” and “funny.”
 
Robin Ince recommended it, just as Richard Herring recommended my “Anthology” some years back. I am, I guess, a cult figure (not to mention a “comedian’s comedian”).

With, no doubt, the smallest cult on earth.
 
Anyway, after submitting my blurb to Peter Buckley Hill, I noticed there is another Free Fringe show this year aboout a healthy guy who suddenly has heart problems. Mine, I’m sure, is different because there are no lessons learned. My surgeon’s nurse practitioner asked me last month if I felt like I’d started a brand, new life and I said, “No.”  I WISH it was a brand new life. But it isn’t. It’s just mine.
 
So, “Cold Chicken” is of a piece with “Cold Comfort.” But you don’t have to see both or see them in the “correct” order.
 
You SHOULD see ’em both, though..
 
And if you want pictures or something, e-mail me, as my UK phone number will be useless ’til the festival starts. (I won’t even give it to you right now as I don’t want you to try to use it.)
 
Maybe I’ll write again later if I feel like it. Meantime, you can Google me if you want. I’m interesting.
 
Nice press release, huh?
 
*******************************
 
Andrew J. Lederer “Cold Chicken” 12:55pm 4-25 Aug, Southsider, 3-7 West Richmond Street, EH8 9EF
Andrew J. Lederer “Cold Comfort” 5:00pm 4-25 Aug. Royal Mile Tavern, 27 High St Edinburgh, EH1 1SG
(A proud part of PBH’s Free Fringe)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Half-Hearted (Pun Retroactively Intended) Press Release

  1. Ian

    Andy your are the real thing, heart on your sleeve and a mind that shines with essential humanity.Gotta love your schitck – keep fighting to the end.

    A fan !

Leave a Reply

