Brooklyn Boy

The Williamsburgh Savings Bank Building was bathed in the traditional colors of a big Jewish nose Thursday in honor of her Barclays Center appearance. Meanwhile, a defiant Empire State Building ignored the event, Manhattan-style, by shining pure white, the color of towering Gentile privilege.

My mother, not many years older than Barbra and likewise a native of Brooklyn, maintained a Streisandish nose throughout her life. Such probosces may have been an evolutionary adaptation to enable diasporic Jews to protectively filter the Brooklyn air.

While I do not myself possess a proud Judaic hook, I do have, beneath my compact, aquiline rhinal adorableness, the deviated septum to which my mother attributed her more Yiddishe facial style. As a result, anti-Semites with x-ray specs are wont to gaze at me harshly.

View original post

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

